Advisory Board

Appointed by the Board of Directors, the Advisory Board provides strategic advice to and helps to promote E4D’s work.

Nathalie Des Rosiers

Nathalie Des Rosiers was appointed as Dean of the Common Law section at the University of Ottawa Faculty of Law in 2013. Prior to that she was the Executive Director and General Counsel of the Canadian Civil Liberties Association, a national organization that acts as a watchdog for the protection of human rights and civil liberties in Canada. Professor Des Rosiers has previous served as Interim Vice-President - Governance for the University of Ottawa (2008-2009), Dean of the Civil Law Section, University of Ottawa (2004-2008), President of the Law Commissison of Canada (2000-2004). She has received many honours, including the Order of Canada in 2013, the Order of Ontario in 2012, a Honourary Doctorate from the UCL (Université catholique de Louvain) in Belgium in 2012 and was named one of Canada's 25 most influential lawyers in both 2011 and 2012.

Joshua Greenberg

Josh Greenberg (PhD, McMaster) is Associate Professor of Communication at Carleton University and is currently Associate Director in the School of Journalism and Communication. He is cross-appointed in the Department of Sociology and Anthropology and is the lead investigator of the Communication, Risk and Public Health Research Group. Before joining the School of Journalism and Communication he was a SSHRC Postdoctoral Research Fellow in the School of Public Policy and Administration at Carleton.

Sally Otto

Sarah (Sally) P. Otto (PhD, Stanford University) is a CRC Professor (Tier 1) at the Department of Zoology and Director of the Biodiversity Research Centre at the University of British Columbia. She is known for her theoretical studies investigating how biological systems evolve. Using mathematical modeling and experimental evolution, Dr. Otto's research into the evolutionary forces leading to biological diversity has resulted in over 150 publications and a book. Otto has served as founding member and Secretary of the Canadian Society of Ecology and Evolution, Vice President of the Society for the Study of Evolution, the American Society of Naturalists, and the European Society of Evolutionary Biology, Council member for the Society for the Study of Evolution and the American Genetic Association, and member of several editorial boards. Her awards include a MacArthur Fellowship, a Guggenheim Fellowship, a McDowell Award for Excellence in Research (UBC), a Steacie Fellowship (Natural Sciences and Research Council; Canada), and the Steacie Prize (National Research Council, Canada).

John Stone

John M.R. Stone (PhD, Reading University, UK) is currently an Adjunct Research Professor in the Department of Geography and Environmental Studies at Carleton University and a Vice-Chair of Working Group II of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC). Dr. Stone came to Canada as a post-doctoral researcher in 1969, working under Gerhard Herzberg at the National Research Council. In 1972, he joined the Public Service of Canada assuming increasing responsibilities first at the Ministry of State for Science and Technology, and later in the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade, the National Research Council's Bureau of International Affairs and finally Environment Canada, until his retirement in 2005. He has represented Canada in a number of  international forums including the NATO Science Committee, the UN/ECE Senior Advisors on Science and Technology, and the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change.

Conseil consultatif

Nommé par le conseil d’administration, le conseil consultatif fournit des conseils stratégiques et aide à promouvoir le travail de SD.

Nathalie Des Rosiers

Nathalie Des Rosiers a été nommée doyenne de la section de common law de la Faculté de droit de l’Université d’Ottawa en 2013. Elle était auparavant directrice exécutive et avocate générale de l’Association canadienne des libertés civiles, un organisme national qui agit comme chien de garde pour la protection des droits humains et des libertés civiles au Canada. Dans le passé, Mme Des Rosiers a été vice-rectrice intérimaire à la gouvernance de l’Université d’Ottawa (2008-09) et présidente de la Commission du droit du Canada (2000-04). Elle a reçu de nombreux honneurs, dont l’Ordre du Canada en 2013, l’Ordre de l’Ontario en 2012, un doctorat honorifique de l’Université catholique de Louvain en Belgique en 2012, et a fait partie de la liste des 25 avocats les plus influents au Canada en 2011 et en 2012.

Joshua Greenberg

Joshua Greenberg (PhD, Université McMaster) est professeur agrégé de communication à l’Université Carleton et actuellement directeur adjoint de l’École de journalisme et de communication. Il travaille conjointement au Département de sociologie et d’anthropologie et est le chercheur principal du Groupe de recherche sur la communication, le risque et la santé publique. Avant de se joindre à l’École de journalisme et de communication, il a été chercheur postdoctoral du CRSH à l’École d’administration publique et de politique gouvernementale à l’Université Carleton.

Sally Otto

Sarah (Sally) P. Otto (PhD, Université Stanford) est professeure et titulaire d'une Chaire de recherche du Canada (niveau 1) au Département de zoologie et directrice du Centre de recherche en biodiversité à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique. Elle est connue pour ses études théoriques qui examinent l’évolution des systèmes biologiques. Utilisant la modélisation mathématique et l’évolution expérimentale, ses recherches sur les forces évolutives conduisant à la diversité biologique ont abouti à plus de 150 publications et un livre. Mme Otto a été membre fondatrice et secrétaire de la Société canadienne d’écologie et d’évolution, vice-présidente de la Société pour l’étude de l’évolution, de l’American Society of Naturalists et de la Société européenne de biologie évolutive, membre du conseil de la Société pour l’étude de l’évolution et de l’American Genetic Association, ainsi que membre de plusieurs comités éditoriaux. Ses récompenses comprennent une bourse MacArthur, une bourse Guggenheim, un prix McDowell d’excellence en recherche (UBC), une bourse Steacie (Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada), et le prix Steacie (Conseil national de recherches du Canada).

John Stone

John M.R. Stone (PhD, Reading University, Royaume-Uni) est actuellement professeur associé de recherche au Département de géographie et d’études environnementales de l’Université Carleton et vice-président du Groupe de travail II du Groupe d’experts intergouvernemental sur l’évolution du climat (GIEC). M. Stone est arrivé au Canada en tant que chercheur post-doctoral en 1969, travaillant sous Gerhard Herzberg au Conseil national de recherches. En 1972, il rejoint la fonction publique du Canada et y assume des responsabilités croissantes, d’abord au Ministère d’État (Sciences et Technologie) et plus tard au Ministère des affaires étrangères et du commerce international, au Bureau des affaires internationales du Conseil national de recherches et, enfin, à Environnement Canada, jusqu’à sa retraite en 2005. Il a représenté le Canada lors de nombreux forums internationaux, y compris le Comité scientifique de l’OTAN, les conseillers principaux de la Commission économique des Nations Unies pour l’Europe, et la Convention-cadre des Nations Unies sur les changements climatiques.