Board of Directors

The Board of Directors provides leadership and sets E4D’s strategic direction.

Wendy Palen

Board Chair

Wendy Palen (PhD, University of Washington) is an Associate Professor in Biological Sciences at Simon Fraser University. Dr. Palen's research focuses on freshwater conservation issues. She is a co-founder of the Earth to Ocean Research Group at Simon Fraser University and Assistant Director of the Liber Ero Postdoctoral Fellows program in applied conservation.

Dan Weaver

Board Member

Dan Weaver is an Assistant Professor at the University of Toronto Scarborough, focusing on physics education. He also researches climate change and the Arctic atmosphere. During his Ph.D. he collected data using a high-resolution spectrometer at the Polar Environment Atmospheric Research Laboratory (PEARL), near Eureka, Nunavut (80°N). As an educator, Dan has taught in classrooms, created educational programs for NGOs, and given regular public talks. He is also an Ontario-certified teacher. Dan is also an advocate for science funding and evidence-based public policy decision-making. He has been a board member at Evidence for Democracy since 2013.

Si Yue Guo

Board Member

Si Yue Guo (PhD in Physical Chemistry, University of Toronto) is a postdoctoral researcher in chemistry and computer science at the University of Toronto. Originally from Montreal, she obtained her Joint Honours BSc in physics and math from McGill University. Her PhD work focused on investigating the reaction dynamics of surface reactions by scanning tunneling microscopy and quantum mechanical modeling. Dr. Guo is currently working on a molecular computing approach to solving optimization problems via programmable microdroplet arrays. An advocate of curiosity-driven research and STEAM (STEM+Arts) education, Dr. Guo volunteers with science education and outreach organizations, including as an instructor and program developer with Pueblo Science and judge and organizer of science fairs. She is also an alumna Junior Fellow of Massey College and a former board member of the Montreal-based YOUths! Leadership Development Group.

Briony Lalor

Board Member

Briony Lalor (PhD in Soil Ecology, University of Western Australia) has an strong interest in developing and sharing knowledge about the ways people can connect with each other and the natural environment to advance global sustainability. She has diverse cross-sectorial and cross-disciplinary experience having held environmental regulation and policy positions within government, private consulting firms and environmental non-profits. Her postdoctoral research involved investigating how environmental science moves into public policy at the Cabinet level in Westminster-based jurisdictions including Canada, Australia and the UK. Passionate about evidence-informed decision-making, community and ecological restoration she is currently developing programs with grassroots environmental and regenerative agriculture non-profits in Québec to support positive change.

Timothy Gray

Board Member

Tim Gray is the executive director of Environmental Defence Canada. Tim grew up on the shores of Lake Huron and acquired his love of nature there. He has over 25 years experience developing and implementing environmental policy change efforts. These have included major shifts in land conservation, forest practices and climate change. Starting out his career as a biologist and policy analyst, Tim has spent a lot of time learning skills that move complex environmental issues toward resolution. He has worked with other change makers on the front lines of conflict and has also taken his skills inside to work on government advisory committees and in complex negotiations with industry. Tim completed an H.BSc. at Wilfrid Laurier University and a M.Sc. at the University of Toronto.